First European title in KF-Junior for Lando Norris


The European KF Junior Championship of 2013 took place over two events, but one commonality was the heat. Already intense in Spain at the Motorland Aragon circuit at Alcaniz, confrontation was kindled at Ortona (ITA) in the middle of summer. In addition to the raw performance of the protagonists, the toughness of the races played a role in the final outcome. There were three drivers on equal points at the end of the last final, so the young British driver Lando Norris was crowned European Champion due to his performance in the first race.

Norris wins in Spain

Noticed since the start of the international season in KF-Junior, Lando Norris (FA Kart-Vortex-LeCont) confirmed that he was one of the fastest and most consistent drivers in the European field  at the rapid Alcaniz track. Credited with the fastest time ahead of Germany's David Beckmann (Zanardi-TM-LeCont), he took five straight wins in the qualifying heats. Delayed at the start of the prefinal, he still finished in third position and returned quickly to pressure Sasakorn Chaimongkol (Kosmic-TM-LeCont). Norris was waiting for the last lap to launch his attack. Pushed back, he crossed the finish line in second position before being declared the winner after his opponent was penalized. Second place went to the Belgian Matteo Raspatelli (Tony Kart-Parilla-LeCont) and third was the Dutch driver Martijn Van Leeuwen (Zanardi-TM-LeCont).

Total suspense in Italy

The crucial meeting at Ortona was the scene of many battles, but not always fair play. Another Briton, Daniel Ticktum (FA Kart-Vortex-LeCont) took the spotlight by winning all the top spots in the competition, while the Italian Leonardo Pulcini (Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont) moved back up to second place after a difficult start to the weekend. Very consistent as a front runner, the British driver Enaam Ahmed (FA Kart-Vortex-LeCont) took the third step of the podium. Less comfortable for once in the early stages of the competition, Lando Norris reached a good level of performance in the final, the second fastest time, but suffered two racing incidents, and he finished 25th.

Norris, Van Leeuwen and Ticktum were therefore tied at the end of the final with 25 points each. As Ticktum didn't qualify for the final in Spain Lando Norris received the European crown, and Van Leeuwen was ranked third.