This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

APRC – India beckons for final event of 2016

  • gb

Newly-crowned 2016 Champion Gaurav Gill will be the hometown hero

FIA, Motorsport, Mobility, Road Safety, F1, WRC, WEC, WTCC, World RX

In 2016, the Coffee Day India Rally of Chikamagalur is again proud to host the Indian round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship and the FIA Asia Cup Rally Championship.

The Rally Headquarters, Service Park, Finish, Parc Ferme, Media Centre, Scrutineering, Shakedown and the Super Special Stage are all located within a couple of kilometres of the picturesque Chikamagalur Town. Coffee Day Global Ltd (formerly known as ABC, Amalgamated Bean Coffee Trading Co) in the centre of Chikamaglur, which is approx. 260 km North of Bangalore. The Ceremonial Start this year will take place inside the Coffee Day Global Ltd Friday evening.

In 2016 the rally route will have newly formed route in the Coffee plantation tight & twisty belonging to our title sponsor M/S Coffee Day Global Ltd and stages previously used before between 2006 to 2011 and it has been designed to provide new challenges for drivers while continuing to use the fast and smooth roads so well-known and liked in the Indian Rally Championship, which will simultaneously be holding its final round of the year also.

The Amber Valley Super Special Stage will run inside the premises of Amber Valley residential School on the Saturday afternoon. This stage brings refreshed rallying into the entire district for spectators to enjoy which attracts around 6,000 avid rally fans from all over the state.

The 2016 FIA APRC drivers’ championship has been won in Malaysia by Team MRF driver, and local hero, Gaurav Gill. The codrivers championship for both APRC and Asia Cup will be decided in Chikmagalur. The APRC Production Cup will also be decided between local driver Sanjay Takale and Mike Young, both driving for the Cusco Racing team.