• gb
  • 9 rounds, 7 countries, tarmac and gravel events on some iconic stages
  • New overall European Historic Champion title introduced for 2024
  • Increased focus and new titles for smaller engine and front wheel drive cars

The 2024 calendar for the FIA European Historic Rally Championship was approved by the FIA World Motor Sport Council.  The championship calendar will feature nine rounds on tarmac and gravel, as well as introducing three new titles: The FIA European Historic Overall Champion title for driver/co-driver, the FIA Historic 1600cc Rally Trophy title and the FIA Historic FWD Rally Trophy title.

FIA is delighted to launch the FIA European Historic Rally Championship calendar for 2024, with the benchmark international historic rally championship visiting seven countries for nine events next season.

Following a successful 2023 season, the 2024 campaign will kick off on the highly popular Rally Costa Brava in March, before 8 further rounds across Europe on both tarmac and gravel surfaces. The series retains its points scoring system where the six best scores from the nine rounds will count towards the four category championships for historic cars homologated up to 1990.

As part of a range of competitor friendly moves for the new season, the FIA is introducing new titles into the championship to support competitors at all ends of the field. For the first time in 2024, competitors will be able to compete for an overall FIA European Historic Rally Champion title for driver/co-driver. Whilst the Category Championships for cars from different eras of the sport will still remain next season, the new overall title will be fought across all nine rounds of the series, providing an extra incentive for those looking to battle at the very sharp end of the EHRC field for a prestigious new title.

To further incentivise support for smaller capacity and front wheel drive cars, two additional titles have been created. The FIA Historic 1600cc Rally Trophy will be open to cars up to 1600cc from Categories 1-4, giving smaller engine cars their own title to fight for during the season, with six best scores to count. Recognising the increasing number of front wheel drive historic cars competing in Europe, a new FIA Historic FWD Rally Trophy will also debut in 2024, giving competitors a new focused title to battle for during the season, with their six best scores counting.

The highly prized FIA EHRC Teams Trophy will once again be open to competitors who join forces together as teams, along with a new bonus points system. This new incentive will offer an additional 10 bonus starting points on two rounds of the series (Historic Rally of Asturias and Historic Acropolis Rally), to further motivate competitors when planning out their championship campaign.

The nine round championship offers great flexibility for drivers using historic vehicles with some iconic events and stages across the year. Recognising that parts availability isn’t always ‘off the shelf’, the series enables drivers to pick a programme that suits their budget, whilst still being able to compete for the category championships by using their six best scores from the nine available rounds across the year.

Highly competitive event entry fees and a low FIA EHRC championship registration fee (for driver and co-driver) remain for 2024, to ensure the series is open to all competitors with all budget levels.

President of the FIA Historic Motorsport Commission, John Naylor:

“These new incentives will add more competition to the series in 2024. The FIA has refined a championship that offers fair competition across all eras in a safe but fun environment. The events all offer remote service and have a ‘throwback’ feel for competitors to celebrate the history of how rallying used to be. The new titles will add extra interest into the series, and it builds on the ethos of ‘something for everyone’, regardless of budgets. The popular format of 1.5-day events with around 140km of stages remains in 2024, giving competitors a compact series of rallies with a strong social element built around them too. As to be expected with EHRC, there are some great stages, great events and historic rally locations to visit in 2024! With just under 60 competitors registered in 2023, we’re looking to bring more new faces into the series with these new incentives. 2023 feedback from existing competitors shows it’s a great championship to be part of, and there’s a warm welcome to new competitors from the very supportive FIA team on all events.”

The nine round calendar has changed in 2024, with the popular Elba Rally Storico in Italy returning to the championship after a short break. The calendar has been further improved for 2024 with increased time between the events compared to 2023, allowing for competitors to have more time to travel to and from events around work and family commitments.


The official FIA European Historic Rally Championship 2024 calendar is:





Rally Costa Brava

Girona, Spain

14-16 March

Vltava Historic Rally

Klatovy, Czech Republic

19-20 April

Historic Rally of Asturias

Pravia, Spain

17-18 May

Mecsek Rally Hungary

Pecs, Hungary

13-15 June

Historic Rally Weiz

Weiz, Austria

11-13 July

Lahti Historic Rally

Lahti, Finland

22-24 August

Elba Rally Historico

Elba, Italy

26-28 September

Sanremo Rally Storico

Sanremo, Italy

19-20 October

Historic Acropolis Rally

Itea/Athens, Greece

8-10 November


For more information on the championship, please contact and keep an eye on for further updates and 2024 Championship Regulations in due course.