FIA Karting - European Championship - Van T'Hoff and Janker the new European winners at PFI

  • gb

The Kart Grand Prix of Great Britain reached its climax on Sunday, 20th May, 2018 on the circuit of PF International. During three days of good weather and intense competition, the best European Drivers were able to engage in a magnificent confrontation before concluding with two exciting final Races. The quality of the British hosting, a combination of conviviality and passion, added an extra touch to this second Competition of the CIK-FIA European Championships, dedicated to the OK and OK-Junior categories. Dilano Van T'Hoff of the Netherlands won the 12-14 age group while Hannes Janker of Germany won the Seniors event. The face of the Championships was significantly changed.

During the three days of the Competition, the sporting spectacle was always very interesting to experience on the track or from its surroundings. The last Qualifying Heats on Sunday morning completed the list of 34 finalists in tight but very sporting battles. A large crowd arrived to see two stunning Finals. The new Drivers’ presentation, with the spectacular individual entry on the grid, started the afternoon well under a flawless blue sky and an increasingly hot sun. Many penalties sanctioned behaviour contrary to the regulations over the weekend, which affected the final rankings.

Bernier leaded on the track, but Van T'Hoff eventually wins in Juniors

Dilano Van T'Hoff (NLD - Exprit / TM Racing / Vega) secured his position as leader of the Qualifying Heats in the morning to start in pole position for the 19-lap Final alongside Gabriel Bortoleto (BRA - CRG / TM Racing / Vega). Starting from the second row, Kirill Smal (RUS - Tony Kart / Vortex / Vega) quickly took the lead, but Victor Bernier (FRA - Kosmic / Parilla / Vega) settled definitively in 1st position on lap 6. Bortoleto lost ground regularly, Smal went off on the 10th lap and Van T'Hoff regained 2nd place against Thomas Ten Brinke (NLD - FA Kart / Vortex / Vega) and Alex Lloyd (GBR - Formula K / TM Racing / Vega). But Gabriele Mini (ITA - Parolin / Parilla / Vega) overtook them in the last lap to gain 3rd place. Having won by 1.5'' on the track ahead of Van T'Hoff, Bernier conceded the top step of the podium to him after a penalty of 3'' for being out of his lane at the start. Lloyd and Ten Brinke completed the top five. Although he set the fastest lap, the previous leader of the Championship Paul Aron (EST - FA Kart / Vortex / Vega) was 16th and his second Kai Askey (GBR - FA Kart / Vortex / Vega) was 9th, therefore changing the hierarchy in favour of Mini.

Provisional classification of the CIK-FIA European Junior Championship after PF International:

1- Gabriele Mini (ITA) - 45 points
2- Paul Aron (EST) - 36 points
3- Dilano Van T'Hoff (NLD) - 35 points
4- Kai Askey (GBR) - 32 points
5- Victor Bernier (FRA) - 28 points

Janker wins after Travisanutto’s disqualification

Mattia Michelotto (ITA - KR / Parilla / B'stone) finished the OK Qualifying Heats ahead of Hannes Janker (DEU - KR / Parilla / B'stone). Lorenzo Travisanutto (ITA - KR / Parilla / B'stone) and Danny Keirle (GBR - KR / Parilla / B'stone) quickly competed for first place in the Final, while Janker regained ground, followed by Pedro Hiltbrand (ESP - CRG / TM Racing / B'stone) and David Vidales Ajenjo (ESP - Tony Kart / Vortex / B'stone). Travisanutto took the lead in the middle of the race, Keirle lost out to Janker and Vidales Ajenjo took 3rd place. Travisanutto crossed the finish line first, but was disqualified from the Competition for putting his front fairing back in place soon after. Hannes Janker (TB Racing Team) was the winner of the Final followed by David Vidales Ajenjo (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Pedro Hiltbrand (CRG SpA), Keirle and Michelotto completing the top five. Arriving in England as leader of the ranking, Roman Stanek (CZE - Kosmic / Vortex / B'stone) finished only 18th and lost his place to Hiltbrand, while Harry Thompson (GBR - FA Kart / Vortex / B'stone) finished 19th and Kas Haverkort (NLD - CRG / TM Racing / B'stone) 32nd, dropped out of the top four.

Provisional classification of the CIK-FIA European Championship after PF International:

1- Pedro Hiltbrand (ESP) - 51 points
2- Hannes Janker (DEU) - 42 points
3- Roman Stanek (CZE) - 35 points
4- David Vidales Ajenjo (ESP) - 32 points
5- Juho Valtanen (FIN) - 29 points