Role of motor sport’s unsung stars recognised with 2022 FIA Volunteers and Officials Awards

  • gb

The 2022 Volunteers and Officials Awards, which recognise the tireless efforts of the men and women who are the backbone of motor sport competitions the world over, have been announced by the FIA Volunteers and Officials Commission.

The awards pay tribute to the essential role volunteers and officials play across a broad spectrum of disciplines for National Sporting Authorities (ASNs) from club events to world championships.

The volunteers’ group is comprised of marshals, officials and medical support staff who give their time freely at race events.

The award for Outstanding Official of the Year for 2022 went to Mexico’s Filiberto Loranca Marañón.

Filiberto started his career as a marshal during the Formula 1 era in Mexico from 1986-1992 and has been the Race intervention Chief Marshal for the modern-day iteration of the Mexico Grand Prix since 2015. In 2022, he was Clerk of The Course for Mexican Grand Prix.

He has also served as Race Director for Formula 4 NACAM, Race Intervention Chief Marshal for FIA Formula E’s Mexico City e-prix, and the FIA World Endurance Championship’s 6 Hours of Mexico.

He has also performed similar roles for LATAM and PANAM series for the Mexican Organization of International Automobile Sport (OMDAI) in a career spanning almost 40 years.

He is also a lead trainer at OMDAI Accreditation and Training Centre for Officials and Volunteers. His experience has been shared around the continent, leading training through the OMDAI RTP programme in countries like Chile, Colombia and Bolivia.

Filiberto will receive his award at the FIA Gala Prize Giving ceremony in Bologna on Friday, December 9.

FIA Volunteers and Officials President Abdulaziz Al Thawadi said: “I am delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 FIA Volunteers and Officials Awards. These marshals and officials of all ages are the true stars of our sport. They give their time feely to ensure that events are efficiently run and that competitors and fans are safe. On behalf of the FIA Volunteers and Officials Commission, I want to congratulate the award winners and pay tribute to all of our Volunteers and Officials the world over. In my eyes, they are all winners.”

The Awards Committee was comprised of Abdulaziz Al Thawadi (President of the FIA Volunteers and Officials Commission), Michael Smith, Vice-President of the FIA Volunteers and Officials Commission (Motorsport Australia), Michael (“Herbie”) Blash, FIA Marshals Ambassador (Motorsport UK) and Tim Malyon, Secretariat of the Volunteers and Officials Commission (FIA).

If you want to volunteer, find your club here:

No nominations for scrutineers were received. No nominations from the Africa zone were received