This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

EHRC - Mats Myrsell and Esko Junttila Top FIA EHRC Standings in Elba

  • gb

The second leg of the XXXIV Rallye Elba Storico took place in tricky weather conditions.  The morning had started dry and sunny but was followed by rain in the afternoon, making the roads very slippery and the choice of the tyres crucial for the competitors.

After a difficult day yesterday, Mats Myrsell, Esko Junttila in the n°2 Ford Sierra RS Cosworth 4x4 ended the Rallye Elba Storico as the top FIA EHRC competitors. The Swedish duo finished just 1 second ahead of the n°6 Ford Sierra of Tibor Erdi Jnr and Zoltan Csoko after ten challenging stages.   

Overnight leaders Ville Silvasti and Risto Pietilainen retired on the second stage of the day when their Lancia developed an engine issue.

In the Category 3, Georg Reitsperger and Lana Sutlovic in the n°19 Volkswagen Golf 16s topped the field finishing the day 53 seconds ahead of Siegfried and Renate Mayr with the n° 12 Volvo 244.  Michael and Elizabeth Putz finished third in Category 3 after the team repaired their Porsche 911 SC overnight after retiring on SS5 yesterday.

The 18 championship points for finishing second means Renate Mayr has secured the 2022 FIA EHRC Category 3 Co-Drivers title.   

James Potter and Caroline McCormack in their n°27 Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII topped the EHRC competitors all weekend in the Category 2. After a great drive in the tricky road conditions, the British duo finished 24 seconds ahead of their teammates, Ernie and Karen Graham (n°14 Ford Escort RS 1600 MKI) and over two minutes in front of Richard and Lucie Ronay aboard the n°15 Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII. 

Will Graham in the n°11 Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII did not have the same luck as his Flexifly Rally Team teammates, the Lahti and Asturias Category 2 winner being forced to retire for the second time in two days. 

After retiring after stage 2 yesterday, Antonio Parisi and Giuseppe D’Angelo (n°23 Porsche 911 S 2.0) had a better day today, finishing at the head of Category 1. They finished ahead of Carlo Fiorito and Marina Bertonasco in the n°24 BMW 2002Ti. Category 1 overnight leaders Jari Hyvarinen and Jarno Ala-Turkia retired on the opening stage of the day in the n°26 Volvo Amazon 122S.

The ninth and final round of the 2022 FIA EHRC season is the 37th Sanremo Historic Rally, which will take place in Italy on the 13-15 October.   This will be the event that decides who will win the remaining FIA EHRC titles, the Category 4 and Category 2 Driver and Co-Driver Championships.

CLICK HERE for the final result from the XXXIV Rally Elba Storico.

**image courtesy of ACI Sport