Hamilton dominates Friday

With the rain holding off, Lewis Hamilton carried his good form over from the morning session to go fastest again in the afternoon.
The McLaren driver spent the whole of the session at the top of the order, though at the close his time was just 0.054s clear of Fernando Alonso’s Ferrari. Alonso in turn was a tenth ahead of his team-mate Felipe Massa, Sebastian Vettel for Red Bull Racing and Force India’s Paul di Resta completed the top five.

Hamilton fastest in FP1

A busy first session in Montreal saw Lewis Hamilton finish top of the timesheet and Heikki Kovalainen badly damage his Caterham.
Double Monteal winner Lewis Hamilton put his McLaren at the top of the order with 20 minutes of the session remaining, setting a time of 1:15.564. It left the Englishman a tenth ahead of Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel with Nico Rosberg third for Mercedes, Fernando Alonso’s Ferrari fourth and Mark Webber fifth in the second Red Bull. The top five were separated by just three-tenths of a second.

Race Preview

Round seven of the 2012 Formula One World Championship may be taking place in one the sport’s most familiar and popular venues, Montreal, which hosts its 33rd Canadian Grand Prix, but this year’s visit to the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve sees the sport entering uncharted territory.

Webber wins in Monaco

Mark Webber’s measured drive gave Red Bull Racing its third successive Monaco Grand Prix victory. 
From pole position Webber got a good start, got to the first corner ahead of Nico Rosberg and never looked troubled. 78 laps later the first six crossed the line nose to tail, but this was rather more exciting than that suggests. Behind him Romain Grosjean spun after contact with Michael Schumacher. Kamui Kobayashi’s Sauber hit the spinning Lotus and both were out.

Schumacher's pole but Webber in P1

Michael Schumacher took his first pole position since July 2006 but Mark Webber will start from P1 in Monaco. 
At his 44th time of trying after coming out of retirement and joining Mercedes in 2010, Michael Schumacher took a magnificent pole position on the streets of Monaco. However, he has a five-place grid penalty hanging over him from the Spanish Grand Prix and will start from sixth place. P1 instead will go to Mark Webber for Red Bull Racing.

Rosberg quickest in FP3

Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg finished top of the timesheet in an incident-strewn final practice session before qualifying for the Monaco Grand Prix. 

Button tops rain-affected FP2

Jenson Button’s early marker in the second free practice session in Monaco was good enough to top the timesheets as intermittent rain disrupted the bulk of the session.
Button’s time of 1:15.746 was set inside the first 15 minutes of the session, before the first rain, as all the teams attempted to get in whatever dry weather running was possible as the skies darkened about he Principality. Second-placed Romain Grosjean, who finished just under four tenths of a second behind the McLaren man, also set his time in the opening quarter hour.

Alonso fastest in Monaco FP1

Fernando Alonso topped the timesheet at the end of a shortened first practice session in Monaco as a blown engine on Heikki Kovalainen’s Caterham left oil on the circuit and brought the session to a close a few minutes earlier than planned.

Race Preview

Round six of the 2012 Formula One World Championship sees the teams and drivers head for the Monaco Grand Prix, the jewel in the sport’s crown and a race which this year celebrates its 70th anniversary.

Maldonado takes maiden win

Pastor Maldonado stormed to a maiden Formula One win in Spain, holding off Fernando Alonso and third-placed Kimi Raikkonen to take Williams its first race win since Juan Pablo Montoya won the 2004 Brazilian GP.