Ogier seals success in Sardinia

FIA News bulletin from day 3 of the 2014 Rally Italia Sardegna
(05-08 JUNE 2014)


Reigning World Champions Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia powered to victory in Rally Italia Sardegna, the sixth round of the FIA World Rally Championship. It represents the duo’s fourth win of the season and their 20th world rally victory giving them a 33 point advantage in the Championship. Mads Østberg and Jonas Andersson recorded their best result of the season with second position and Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila were lucky to claim the final podium position after dropping time changing a wheel yesterday.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Latvala continues to be Ogier’s main rival and the Volkswagen team-mates are beginning to pull ahead of third-placed Østberg. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, the German marque has once again extended its advantage and has a 118 point lead over the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team. The Polo R WRC has also now racked up 16 wins from 19 starts and the team has claimed 10 consecutive victories with the all-conquering car.
Today’s route covered just four stages and it was Østberg who took the advantage in the first stage, extending his advantage over Latvala in the process. The Finn fought back in the following two stages but simply ran out of kilometres to fight for second. Behind the leading trio, Andreas Mikkelsen finished fourth for the third consecutive event and claimed his first-ever Power Stage victory ahead of both his team-mates. Elfyn Evans had another solid rally and finished fifth ahead of Martin Prokop, who has been suffering back problems throughout the rally. Henning Solberg and Robert Kubica rounded off the top eight and local hero Lorenzo Bertelli finished ninth and took the FIA WRC 2 Championship victory, his first-ever win.
The seventh round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to Poland (26-29 June) where competition will be fought out over stages in both Poland and Lithuania.
Rally Italia Sardegna – Final Unofficial Results (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
2.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
3.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
4.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Floene
5.   Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt
6.   Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek
7.   Henning Solberg/Ilka Minor
8.   Robert Kubica/Maciej Szczepaniak
9.   Lorenzo Bertelli/Mitia Dotta 
10. Khalid Al Qassimi/Chris Patterson
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
4hr 02min 37.8sec
4hr 04min 00.9sec
4hr 04min 10.6sec
4hr 05min 17.1sec
4hr 07min 19.6sec
4hr 08min 43.1sec
4hr 09min 53.6sec
4hr 14min 56.8sec 
4hr 17min 59.9sec 
4hr 19min 27.1sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 6 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Elfyn Evans (GBR)
Kris Meeke (GBR)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Robert Kubica (POL)
Ott Tanak (EST)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Pontus Tidemand (SWE)
Jaroslav Melicharek (SVK)
Juho Hänninen (FIN)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Lorenzo Bertelli
Matteo Gamba (ITA)
Craig Breen (IRL)
Yuriy Protasov (UKR)
Jari Ketomaa (FIN)
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)
138 points
105 points
66 points
63 points
40 points
36 points
32 points
31 points
30 points
22 points
18 points
12 points
10 points
8 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
3 points
2 points
2 points
2 points
2 points
1 point
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 6 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
M-Sport World Rally Team
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Hyundai Motorsport
Jipocar Czech National Team
RK M-Sport World Rally Team
Hyundai Motorsport N
227 points
109 points
78 points
64 points
57 points
32 points
18 points
4 points