

AUTO+ PRIZE GIVING

FIA PRIZE GIVING 2019 SATURDAY 07.12.19



MASTERS OF MOTOR SPORT



2019 FIA TITLE WINNERS CROWNED AT CARROUSEL DU LOUVRE

The winners of this season's FIA-sanctioned competitions have been crowned at a glorious 2019 FIA Prize Giving ceremony at the Carrousel du Louvre in the City of Light.



The undoubted highlight of the evening was the presentation for Lewis Hamilton, who took the iconic trophy for his sixth FIA Formula 1 World title. This puts him just one crown shy of Michael Schumacher's record of seven world championships. The 2019 season was a display of supremacy by the British driver, who equalled his 2018 achievement of 11 grand prix victories. Furthermore, Hamilton accumulated a record tally of 413 points in a season, something that has never been achieved before.

The six-time champion said, "It's been the best year I've ever had in my career. I'm really proud of what we've achieved as a team. To come into a sixth year, to have fought for a world title at the front and sustained the performance we have collectively I think has been amazing. And on the driver front, I'm definitely very happy with my performance this year. There's been lots of great races, the last few years have been intense with Ferrari, but having another team up there in the loop has made it more challenging for all of us." Hamilton's contribution allowed the Mercedes team to secure its sixth consecutive Manufacturer's Title.

The winners of the other categories, bar Formula 1, were awarded with stunning new-for-2019 trophies, designed by renowned American artist Frank Stella.

In rallying, Ott Tänak and his co-driver Martin Järveoja have put Estonia on the map, ending French domination in the sport's top category – the FIA World Rally Championship – that had lasted since 2003.

Tänak said: "When you've been targeting something like this for a long, long time, and then you actually achieve it, you feel a kind of relief. In the beginning, it was a dream, and for the last couple of years we've been close, but for different reasons we've not managed to be the winners. Now that we've finally done it, it feels like I've lost a weight from my shoulders." On the manufacturers' side, Hyundai Motorsport finally clinched the crown, having finished second in the two previous seasons.

In what was the FIA World Endurance Championship's first Super Season, Toyota won both the Driver and Team competitions.



Endurance racing rookie Fernando Alonso teamed up with Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima to win five out of eight races, including two editions of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

"I remember every lap of this championship, which was strange as it lasted one year and a half!" said Alonso. "In 2018 I was combining two World Championships – F1 and Endurance – which was very intense, but I loved the experience. Every World Championship is unique, and it's nice to sit here as World Champion again. My first Prize Giving was in 1996 when I came with an FIA Karting World Championship, and now 23 years later, I'm sitting here with the FIA World Endurance Championship. The spirit and atmosphere you find in endurance racing is quite special – the friendship you have with your team-mates in both cars – all this is unique and you can't compare with the experiences I had before."

New team and driver entrants, and the increasingly competitive field, made for a far from easy ride in the 2018/19 ABB FIA Formula E season. That didn't stop Jean-Eric Vergne from taking three race victories, winning the championship and becoming the first back-to-back title-winner in the history of the championship. Together with teammate André Lotterer, Vergne helped the DS Techeetah outfit to clinch their maiden victory in the Teams' Championship.

"I'm really pleased to have done it again," said the Frenchman. "It wasn't an easy season, but here we are — I would say, in a way this championship was harder than the first, because I think there were four races in a row where I didn't score any points, with no-one around me believing that I could do it, and I even lost belief in myself. Now that Formula E will become an FIA World Championship from season seven, I will have to come back to the prize giving then so I can be a World Champion!"

In what has been the closest season in the FIA World Rallycross Championship's history, the drivers' title fight came down to a gripping finale after which Sweden's Timmy Hansen was crowned.

"I had the perfect ending to an incredible season," said Hansen. "The feeling of winning the title is actually quite different to what I'd dreamed of – I was extremely focused on my own job but looking at it now it was a crazy finale to the season and you couldn't have written it better if it was a movie! I feel really blessed to have achieved this as a family – it's as important as the title to me."

New to the family this year was the FIA Motorsport Games, an interdisciplinary event with a national focus in which drivers represent their countries, fighting for medals that contribute to overall medal standings determining the winning National Sporting Authority. On this occasion, it was Russia, with a gold medal and two bronzes.

The FIA's stars of the future were also honoured in Paris. Nyck de Vries was crowned FIA Formula 2 champion following a dominant campaign and takes his success to Formula E next season. In the FIA Formula 3 Championship, Robert Shwartzman emerged victorious.

The FIA Special Award was given to Violetta Bulc for her commitment to her role as former European Commissioner for Transport, and her ongoing work to improve road safety and mobility for all users.

The Rookie of the Year prize, voted for by members of the FIA Drivers' Commission, was won by F1 driver Alexander Albon, who started the season with Scuderia Toro Rosso before impressing on his promotion to Red Bull Racing. The British-born Thai finished eighth in the drivers' standings in his debut season, following an impressive performance at almost every race.

The Personality of the Year award, voted for by permanently accredited media from the FIA's major championship, was awarded posthumously to Niki Lauda.

The Action of the Year prize, voted for by fans of motor sport via the FIA's online channels, was presented to F1 start Max Verstappen, who was honoured for his spectacular battle with Charles Leclerc during the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.































GLOBAL PARTNERS





OFFICIAL TRANSPORTATION PARTNER



FIA.COM