RACE STEWARDS BIOGRAPHIES

LARS ÓSTERLIND

FIA WORLD COUNCIL MEMBER; HONORARY PRESIDENT OF THE SWEDISH AUTOMOBILE SPORT FEDERATION

Lars Österlind is a highly experienced FIA steward who has officiated at more than 100 grands prix and a similar number of World Rally Championship rounds. A social sciences graduate and lifelong motor sport enthusiast, Österlind was President of the Swedish Rally Commission from 1978-1982, then President of the Swedish Automobile Sport Federation from 1982-1996. He became Honorary President in 1996 and has been a member of the FIA World Council since 1984. Outside motor sport Österlind has specialised in management, working as a consultant and pursuing his own business interests. He is also experienced in local government at city council level.



JOSÉ ABED

FIA VICE PRESIDENT

José Abed, an FIA Vice President since 2006, began competing in motor sport in 1961. In 1985, as a motor sport official, Abed founded the Mexican Organisation of International Motor Sport (OMDAI) which represents Mexico in the FIA. He sat as its Vice-President from 1985 to 1999, becoming President in 2003. In 1986, Abed began promoting truck racing events in Mexico and from 1986 to 1992, he was President of Mexican Grand Prix organising committee. In 1990 and 1991, he was President of the organising committee for the International Championship of Prototype Cars and from 1990 to 1995, Abed was designated Steward for various international Grand Prix events. Since 1990, Abed has been involved in manufacturing prototype chassis, electric cars, rally cars and kart chassis.



TOM KRISTENSEN

1980 NINE TIMES LE MANS WINNER, GERMAN F3 CHAMPION (1991), JAPANESE F3 CHAMPION (1993) ALMS CHAMPION (2001)

Denmark's Tom Kristensen is the most successful driver in the history of the Le Mans 24-Hour race having won the endurance event nine times before retiring from competition in November 2014. Kristensen's oustanding career saw him race in single-seaters, touring cars as well as testing in Formula One. However, it is for his achievements in sportscars that he is correctly most lauded. Kristensen's first Le Mans win came in 1997, driving for the Joest Racing team. After two years competing with BMW, he rejoined Joest, now racing as Audi Sport Team Joest, in 2000, winning three Le Mans 24-Hours in succession with the team. He won again with Bentley in 2003 before returning to the wheel of Audi machines to win in 2004-'05, 2008 and 2013. In 2013 he also won the FIA World Endurance Championship title.

