This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

2013 Wales Rally GB - Day Two


2013 Wales Rally GB - Day Two

(14-17 NOVEMBER 2013)


Sébastien Ogier is well on course for a ninth victory in the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship having consolidated his lead during the first full day of competition in Wales Rally GB. The Frenchman has 20.1 seconds in hand to team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala who has powered ahead of Thierry Neuville.
Today’s route was the longest of the event and took in two identical loops of three stages covering 137.06 competitive kilometres. In addition, crews could only take advantage of a mid-day remote service in Newtown, meaning limited spare parts and service time. Ogier started the day with a slim advantage but was again immediately on the pace, winning the first stage in the opening loop. While he was beaten by Dani Sordo and Latvala in the following two stages, this afternoon the Frenchman blitzed the opposition with a string of three fastest times to take a commanding control of the leaderboard. Latvala’s fastest time in SS6 saw him overhaul Neuville, who has been uncharacteristically off the pace in Wales.
Behind the leading trio, Mads Østberg is fourth, battling with fellow Fiesta driver Evgeny Novikov, the duo split by 3.7 seconds this evening. Andrea Mikkelsen is also in that fight for fourth, a further 1.1 seconds behind. Citroën has been in the thick of today’s dramas; Robert Kubica, making his debut in the DS3 WRC, rolled in the first stage and just two stages later Mikko Hirvonen did the same thing in the sister car. Sordo, in ninth, is their only remaining contender, although the Spaniard is carrying a five-minute penalty with him for a breach of the chassis regulations.
Wales Rally GB – Unofficial Results after Day 2
1. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
2. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
3. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
4. Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
5.   Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
6.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
7.   Martin Prokop/Michal Ernst
8.   Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt
9.   Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio
10. Mark Higgins/Carl Williamson
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta R5
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta R5
1hr 34 min 48.0sec
1hr 35 min 08.1sec
1hr 35 min 50.6sec
1hr 36 min 18.8sec
1hr 36 min 22.5sec
1hr 36 min 23.6sec
1hr 39 min 44.2sec
1hr 41 min 18.2sec
1hr 41 min 42.6sec
1hr 41 min 44.6sec