This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

EDRC: Zetterström clinches Top Fuel title at Santa Pod finale

  • gb

Ida Zetterström, Jan Ericsson, Linn Fløysvik and Michael Malmgren have clinched the 2023 FIA European Drag Racing Championship titles in their respective classes as the curtain was brought down on season on the second weekend of September at UK’s Santa Pod Raceway

Zetterström won the Top Fuel title in style by claiming the victory in the final round of the season. Fløysvik secured the Top Methanol title by defeating Sandro Bellio in the semi-finals, while Malmgren defeated Stefan Ernryd in the semi-finals to win the Pro Stock title.

Santa Pod’s event victories in Top Methanol and Pro Stock went to Johnny Oksa and Simon Ekengren respectively. In Pro Modified Ericsson retained his title with his Hockenheim win, thus a semi-final finish did not hurt the Swede, while David Vegter claimed his first win.

In Top Fuel, the championship was already decided after Zetterström claimed the win in the penultimate round at Hockenheim, however, at Santa Pod, she was once again unstoppable. After claiming the top qualifying position with a 3.86s run, she advanced to the final to face Susanne Callin, who defeated Jndia Erbacher in the semi-finals.

In the final, Zetterström stormed to a great 3.91s to claim her third win of the season and clinch the title in what was only her second year in the fastest category of the championship.

During the whole season, Zetterström lost only one elimination round. In the championship Callin finished in second, with Erbacher rounding out the top three, making it an all-female podium in the final standings.

In Pro Modified, 2022 champion Jan Ericsson retained his title after claiming the win at Hockenheim. The 2023 crown is the third consecutive title for the driver from Sweden. At Santa Pod Ericsson lost his semi-final run against Mats Eriksson, and that was the first time the Swede was defeated in an elimination round this season. Fourth-fastest qualifier, Eriksson, was consistent with a string of 5.88s runs to advance to the final.

On the other side of the ladder, second-best qualifier David Vegter was quick and consistent. In the quarter-finals, he got the better of his countryman Michel Tooren to meet Andres Arnover in the semi-finals. Vegter then secured a place in the final and the runner-up position in the championship.

In the final Vegter and Eriksson both ran into problems after the start. However, as Vegter got his car immediately under control again, the Dutch racer claimed his maiden win and took second in the final standings, with Arnover rounding out the end-of-season podium.


In Top Methanol the championship was decided in the semi-finals. After a bye run in the quarter-finals, 2022 champion and number one qualifier Sandro Bellio had to face the championship leader, Linn Fløysvik. Bellio had to win the run and the final to retain his title. At the start line, the race was decided as Bellio suffered from traction problems. Fløysvik claimed the win in 5.58 seconds to secure her first championship win.

Behind Fløysvik, Bellio finished the 2023 championship in second position, while Oksa moved up to third following his win.

In Pro Stock, the championship was also decided in the semi-finals. Michael Malmgren had to face championship leader Stefan Ernryd. With a win margin of only 0.02s, Malmgren defeated Ernryd and took over the championship lead.

When Robin Norén was defeated in the second semi-final by best qualifier Simon Ekengren, the 2023 title went to Malmgren.

In the final, the new champion was defeated on a holeshot by Ekengren, who took his first career win that elevated him to third in the championship, with Ernryd ending up second in the standings.