RACE STEWARDS BIOGRAPHIES

GARRY CONNELLY

DEPUTY PRESIDENT, FIA INSTITUTE; DIRECTOR, GLOBAL INSTITUTE FOR MOTOR SPORT SAFETY; DIRECTOR, AUSTRALIAN INSTITUTE OF MOTOR SPORT SAFETY; F1, WTCC STEWARD: FIA WORLD MOTOR SPORT COUNCIL MEMBER

Garry Connelly has been involved in motor sport since the late 1960s. A long-time rally competitor, Connelly was instrumental in bringing the World Rally Championship to Australia in 1988 and served as Chairman of the Organising Committee, Board member and Clerk of Course of Rally Australia until December 2002. He has been an FIA Steward and FIA Observer since 1989, covering the FIA's World Rally Championship, World Touring Car Championship and Formula One Championship. He is a director of the Australian Institute of Motor Sport Safety and of the Global Institute of Motor Sport Safety. He is a member of the FIA World Motor Sport Council.



JOSE ABED FIA VICE PRESIDENT

José Abed, an FIA Vice President since 2006, began competing in motor sport in 1961. In 1985, as a motor sport official, Abed founded the Mexican Organisation of International Motor Sport (OMDAI) which represents Mexico in the FIA. He sat as its Vice-President from 1985 to 1999, becoming President in 2003. In 1986, Abed began promoting truck racing events in Mexico and from 1986 to 1992, he was President of Mexican Grand Prix organising committee. In 1990 and 1991, he was President of the organising committee for the International Championship of Prototype Cars and from 1990 to 1995, Abed was designated Steward for various international Grand Prix events. Since 1990, Abed has been involved in manufacturing prototype chassis, electric cars, rally cars and kart chassis.



TOM KRISTENSEN

NINE TIMES LE MANS WINNER, GERMAN F3 CHAMPION, JAPANESE F3 CHAMPION, ALMS CHAMPION

Denmark's Tom Kristensen is the most successful driver in the history of the Le Mans 24-Hour race having won the endurance event nine times before retiring from competition in November 2014. Kristensen's oustanding career saw him race in single-seaters, touring cars as well as testing in Formula One. However, it is for his achievements in sportscars that he is correctly most lauded. Kristensen's first Le Mans win came in 1997, driving for the Joest Racing team. After two years competing with BMW, he rejoined Joest, now racing as Audi Sport Team Joest, in 2000, winning three Le Mans 24-Hours in succession with the team. He won again with Bentley in 2003 before returning to the wheel of Audi machines to win in 2004-'05, 2008 and 2013. In 2013 he also won the FIA World Endurance Championship title.

